McDowell County Public Library

Teen Programs & Events

The Amazing Race

Tuesday, September 17 at 4:00 p.m.   Marion Branch

Thursday, September 19 at 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Teens will have to follow clues and complete challenges in a race to be the first one to the finish line.

 

Ikebana Vases

Tuesday, September 24 at 4 00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, September 26 at 4:00 p.m. Old Fort

Teens will make a special vase and learn about the Japanese art of flower arrangement.

 

Foil Art Print

Tuesday, October 1 at 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, October 3 at 4:00 p.m. Old Fort

Using a special and very colorful foil teens will learn how to use a lamenter to create a foil picture.

 

Teen Book Club

Tuesday, October 8 at 4:00 p.m.  Marion Branch

Thursday, October 10 at 4:00 p.m. Old Fort

Teens who have read the book No Parking at the End of Times by Bryan Bliss are invited to a book

discussion with Miss Lori. Snacks will be provided.

 

Week of October 15th– Sorry No Programs

 

Edible Terrariums

Tuesday, October 22 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, October 24 at 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Teens will learn about succulents and create their own edible version of the plants.

 

Breakout Box

Tuesday, October 29 at 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, October 31 at 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Teens will have to decipher clues, side step red herrings, race against the clock and other teams in order

to get the locks open and win the prizes.

 

  • Hours

    Marion Library

    Mon, Wed, Fri: 10-5:30
    Tue, Thu: 10-7
    Saturday: 11-5
    Sunday: Closed
    Holiday Hours

    Old Fort Library

    Monday: Closed
    Tues, Wed, Fri: 10-5:30
    Thursday: 10-7
    Saturday: 12:30-5
    Sunday: Closed
    Holiday Hours

  • Get in touch

    Marion Library

    Phone 828-652-3858
    Fax 828-652-2098

    Old Fort Library

    Phone 828-668-7111
    Fax 828-668-4013


    Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Find us

    Marion Library

    90 W Court St
    Marion, NC 28752
    Directions

    Old Fort Library

    65 E Mitchell St
    Old Fort, NC 28762
    Directions