McDowell County Public Library

Teen Programs & Events

 

 

Eggshell Mosaic

Tuesday, April 24 @ 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, April 26 @ 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Teens will love this simple glue-and-paint process with the satisfying “crunch!”

 

Breakout Box

Tuesday, May 1 @ 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, May 3 @ 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Teens will have to follow clues, sidestep the red herrings, and work together to beat the clock in order to get the box open in time to win a prize inside.

 

Mocha Diffusion

Tuesday, May 8 @ 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, May 10 @ 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Using inks and alcohol teens will learn how to create interactive diffused patterns on paper.

 

 Medicine Sticks

Tuesday, May 15 @ 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, May 17 @ 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Teens will make sticks, inspired by Polynesian “medicine” God Sticks, that represent deities, usually in the form of a human face of figure and wrapped in cloth and cord.

 

Van Gogh Plaques

Tuesday, May 22 @ 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, May 24 @ 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Teens will sculpt a slab of clay into a landscape. They will then paint it using colors inspired by Van Gogh.

 

Bracelet Weaving

Tuesday, May 29 @ 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, May 31 @ 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Teens will learn how to make different bracelets using embroidery thread. These make great gifts to exchange with friends.

 

Making Decorations

Tuesday, June 5 @ 4:00 p.m. Marion Branch

Thursday, June 7 @ 4:00 p.m. Old Fort Branch

Teens will be making musical garland to decorate the teen area. The Summer Reading Programs theme this year is, “Libraries Rock”. We will be creating musically themed crafts this summer. The sign ups for the Summer Reading Program for all ages will start June 11th at 10:00 in Marion, and June 12th at 10:00 in Old Fort.

  • Hours

    Marion Library

    Mon, Wed, Fri: 10-5:30
    Tue, Thu: 10-7
    Saturday: 11-5
    Sunday: Closed
    Holiday Hours

    Old Fort Library

    Monday: Closed
    Tues, Wed, Fri: 10-5:30
    Thursday: 10-7
    Saturday: 12:30-5
    Sunday: Closed
    Holiday Hours

  • Get in touch

    Marion Library

    Phone 828-652-3858
    Fax 828-652-2098

    Old Fort Library

    Phone 828-668-7111
    Fax 828-668-4013


    Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Find us

    Marion Library

    90 W Court St
    Marion, NC 28752
    Directions

    Old Fort Library

    65 E Mitchell St
    Old Fort, NC 28762
    Directions